Happiness

How can happiness be obtained? What is happiness?

These are questions I have asked myself constantly. I was not planning on blogging about this today. However, I told myself when something was heavy on my heart I would write and share it.(a personal goal) Let’s start with the reason I felt the need to write about being happy. Facebook! Yes Facebook! I started a membership with Facebook in 2006. Back then, it was a networking site for college students. The only way you could obtain membership was to have a college e-mail address. Now anyone can be a member on Facebook. Nevertheless, I do not think that is where the problem lies. It is just a lot of unhappy people in the world, and Facebook is used as a platform for people in deep dejection. In 2010, suicide was the 10th leading cause of death for Americans. In that year, someone in the country died by suicide every 13.7 minutes (www.afsp.org) Those statistics are heart breaking. I deleted my Facebook last month just to see if it affected my mood, and I can honestly say I felt better without it. I chose to really be happy no matter what happens about two years ago. That was one of the best decisions I could have made for myself. However, it does not matter how happy you are if you are constantly surrounded by negativity and unhappiness. It is going to affect you. This is why I’m a firm believer in if something or somebody does not make you happy let it go! Why do we hold on to things and people that affect us in such a detrimental way? My reason was because I simply did not believe I deserved to be happy. I was so focused on making everybody around me happy, and I was suffering. I was truly my own worst critic. Once I was real with myself and came to this realization, the process to become happy started. It is still a struggle for me to not be so hard on myself, but like I said before this is a journey. I try to look at my life as a marathon, and I cannot sprint to my destiny. It will take time. How I overcame sadness is prayer! I pray constantly! I’m not perfect, and I am grateful God does not want us to be, because the pressure to be perfect in such an imperfect world is exhausting. I also removed people and things that I felt were affecting me in a negative way. There is such a thing as loving from a distance. I had to do that to be sane. Instead, I focused on my goals. I started to work towards completing my goals, and I eventually started to check things off my goal list because I was achieving them. 🙂 I hope this helped someone. Just pay attention to your surroundings, subtract, and add as you see fit.  What a person talks about is one way to determine if a person is happy. If a person is truly supportive, happy, and positive towards others, they are happy! On the other hand, hurt people HURT people. To those that are hurting, my heart aches for you. I remember those days, and it was not fun. I lift you in my prayers and want you to know you can make it out. You can be happy! Happiness is a choice! Live your life for you! EVERYONE deserves happiness!! Many blessings and love! #WomanofValor #WritetoWork

-Destinee

2 thoughts on “Happiness

Leave a Reply

